Hootsuite vs Buffer

hootsuite vs bufferI have been using Buffer for my social media for few months now and I love its’ simplicity. No fuss, no need to pass the fork lifter’s test in order to operate it.

I picked it as having used Hootsuite few years back, I found it over complicated. This scheduling platform aims to deliver as many options as possible – especially for monitoring the performance – but the multiple tabs can overwhelm the newcomers. And I’m not the only one, number of my clients hesitate using it as they panic they wouldn’t know how to set it up correctly.

hootsuite can overwhelm

Yet last week, I had to convert. My new client, selling meal replacement shakes, opted to manage his social media sites via Hootsuite. He did set it up, but connected three Facebook accounts (his business page, personal page and other one) in a stream, instead of three different platforms. And I’m not surprised, once you find yourself facing the Hootsuite dashboard, your initial reaction, is ‘blimey! You just don’t know where to start.

buffer is user friendly

Luckily it was surprisingly easy to re-arrange it and set it up again. I love the separate streams that allow me to monitor Twitter mentions and replies. Now I love this dashboard as I can see right away what is happening – it is indeed a powerful platform. Yet I still use Buffer for my own social media. I love the little Bufferapp to share any content online right away. I just click on the little icon in the top right corner of my screen and it loads the sharing window as a pop-up. I don’t even have to leave the page. It even pulls the highlighted text automatically as a new post. Perfect.

But what is your platform of choice – Hootsuite or Buffer?

Hootsuite vs Buffer

Leave a Reply

